Simon Wakeman - marketing, public relations and digital communications

Ecyan.com and T6 Consultancy - a follow-up

Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 8:52 pm

Welcome to my website. On my blog I write about marketing, public relations and digital communications. To keep up-to-date with my posts you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed or sign-up to receive blog posts by email.
Thanks for visiting and I hope you enjoy my site.

In December 2005 I posted on my blog about a bad experience I had with ordering from an internet site called www.ecyan.com.

The post has since attracted many comments from people who have had similar bad experiences with this site or with seemingly related sites.

I recently received a letter from Russell Wilkes - who was, at the time, the named contact for the ecyan.com domain. The full letter is here, but I’ve pasted the text below:

I write in regards to content located at www.simonwakeman.com/2005/12/30/dont-
buy-from-ecyancom/. I was concerned to see several posts relating to my name and address in conjunction with ecyan.com, firstphoneshop.co.uk and speedydelivery.co.uk.

I can categorically state that none of the above businesses are in my ownership. My company, T6 Consultancy, has for many years provided marketing consultancy, SEO and website design. Occasionally, as a result of the content on your site, customers of the above domains assume they need to contact the SEO company for issues with orders.

I can also state that my company has never promoted www.firstmobileshop.co.uk.

I have no intention of asking you to remove complaints about any company - I would, however, ask you to remove those posts which state my contact information with the implication that I am responsible for the running of any of those businesses. In particular, those posts made by Jono_webmaster, Stephen Marsh, Kevin are of particular relevance.

One of the key reasons why my contact information is assumed to be connected with the above domains is that, as with all my clients, I insist that domains I promote are under my full control. This is a measure to ensure clients pay in full for the services provided, an issue I am sure you experience.

Contact information shown on any site is of course that of the company concerned.

Having reviewed the post and subsequent comments, I’ve come to the conclusion that almost all the comments posted are completely factual. The domain contact details posted by Jono_webmaster were correct at the time of posting (I checked), and continue to be publicly available.

Stephen Marsh’s comment contains contact information for T6 Consultancy - the registrant for the ecyan.com domain. This information is also publicly available on the web.

I have edited one comment that contained a direct insult, as I don’t think that’s appropriate.

It’s fair that I allow Russell the right to reply to the comments made, and as such have posted his letter and explanation on my blog today.

Tags: , , , ,
Categories: Customer experience, General

Comments on “Ecyan.com and T6 Consultancy - a follow-up”

  • dion

    Sir

    I have followed this Russell Wilkes with concern for some time now. My reason? I live above the shop he used to rent out when he was trading first phone shop out of a very basic tanning shop.

    The shop is still there, but thankfully it has another decent owner. However, it didn’t stop Mr Wilkes from using MY address for ntl bills, any disgruntled customer who wanted a refund for his shoddy stock, and at present, a debt collecting agency demanding nearly £10,000 on behalf of Barclay’s.

    I have spoken to Trading Standards, and they are very aware of him, but he has managed to elude them at present as he always seems to be one step ahead.

    I can categorically state that Mr Russell Paul Wilkes DID run firstphoneshop as we shared the same landlord, and to reaffirm this, he managed to slyly get my mobile phone number from my landlord’s secretary without her knowledge and call me to sort things out, and he certainly addressed himself as Russell Wilkes on my mobile messaging service.

    However, I tried contacting him several times and could not get an answer from him, and then all of a sudden, his phone number was cut off.

    Up until today, things had gone quiet, but I received a letter addressed to my home address stating that a debt collecting agency wants money from his debt to Barclay’s, which is why I am contacting you now.

    Please feel free to contact myself for any further information you may feel important. This man is a menace.

    Regards

    dion

  • Mark

    Looks like I’ve been had over by SpeedyDelivery.co.uk
    Fortunately it’s only £10 - but it’s annoying that there are people out there to con!

Leave your comment



Check out my rules for posting comments on my website.

About my blog

I blog about marketing, PR and communications, with a focus on new media and how technology can help organisations communicate more effectively.

The content and opinions expressed on this blog are not endorsed by nor reflect the views of any company or organisation I work with.

Recent posts

Tags

Marketing Public relations social+media public+relations Blogging Social media Branding RSS Podcasting statistics web+development News CIPR Wordpress -research-and-analysis General Events Web strategy Careers personal+development

Archives

Blogroll

Check out the blogs, podcasts and vidcasts I'm following on my blogroll page.

Keeping fit

In my spare time I like to run and cycle. I track my runs and bike rides using the superb RunningAHEAD website: